Franny’s Five-Day Detox

Evening all! On Sunday, I returned from sunny Cyprus. SERIOUSLY sunny. I’m talking 30-degrees-hours-dedicated-to-lazing-around sunny. It was tough. England’s temperatures have dropped and not for the better. All I can say is that it gives me reason to wear more layers to cover the bod having indulged my gut to the MAX (though not being able to show off the tan hurts a little inside… priorities in tact here.)IMG_5277 So, on my arrival back to lovely Harpenden, I pledged to myself that I would detox for a whole FIVE DAYS. I know. Crazy. I’ve never liked the concept of dieting. I’m more of an exercise person, but my whole body was screaming for some healthy relief from the numerous heavy meals I’d merrily tucked away… I’m half-way through and I can tell you right now – it’s TOUGH. I have cracked and had a piece of Cyprus Delight this lunchtime (exactly the same as Turkish Delight…) but aside from that I’m doing pretty well so I thought I’d share my week’s menu so that if you, like me, have been slowly increasing your plate size to resemble a sharing platter for one rather than your average portion, you can join me on my mini-detox mission.Screen Shot 2014-09-24 at 18.59.47 My boyfriend is correct in telling me that it takes more than 5 days to make a difference and I’m not claiming that there have been any miracles. In fact, I don’t believe I have outwardly changed at all. BUT I like to think good things are happening inside and I have to say, I do feel better with myself. I’m proud of me for not opening a bottle of wine or nipping up the road for chocolate (or more likely, sweets). So, once I’ve been to Brussels & Maastricht this weekend, I intend to continue the healthy eating. I think I will be having the occasional glass now and then, but in terms of meals, there are some great alternatives out there!Screen Shot 2014-09-24 at 18.59.57 So here is the plan. If you fancy it, good luck! It’d be great to hear about your experiences. Monday

  • Hot water and juice of half a lemon
  • Breakfast: Greek yoghurt, chopped banana, quartered fig, blueberries, honey
  • Lunch: Minestrone soup
  • Dinner: Stir fry vegetables and poached salmon with soy and ginger
  • Snacks: Almonds
  • Exercise: Gym

Tuesday

  • Hot water and juice of half a lemon
  • Breakfast: Greek yoghurt, chopped banana, quartered fig, blueberries, honey
  • Lunch: Smoked salmon, avocado, asparagus
  • Dinner: Baked chicken breast with chilli rub, sweet potato, courgette, red pepper, onion, garlic
  • Snacks: Detox Kitchen snacks – they are amazing! Menu here.
  • Exercise: Tap and gymScreen Shot 2014-09-24 at 19.00.15

Wednesday

  • Hot water and juice of half a lemon
  • Breakfast: Greek yoghurt, chopped banana, quartered fig, blueberries, honey
  • Lunch: Spinach, smoked salmon, poached egg
  • Dinner: King prawns with left over stir fry vegetables and chilli sauce
  • Snacks: Almonds dipped in honey (YUM)
  • Exercise: Ballet

Screen Shot 2014-09-24 at 19.00.05Thursday

  • Hot water and juice of half a lemon
  • Breakfast: Greek yoghurt, chopped banana, quartered fig, blueberries, honey
  • Lunch: Not sure yet! I’m in London for a meeting… I’ll be good though, promise!
  • Dinner: Courgette spaghetti using my new Zoodle – SO EXCITED – with prawns, tomatoes, garlic, chilli and basil
  • Snacks: Kiwi, pear
  • Exercise: Gym

Friday

  • Hot water and juice of half a lemon
  • Breakfast: Greek yoghurt, chopped banana, quartered fig, blueberries, honey
  • Lunch: Minestrone soup
  • Dinner: Once again, in London, going out on a detox is hard and there may be a cheeky tipple at Ronnie Scott’s…!
  • Exercise: Gym (and dancing the night away!)

So, as you can see, there is a range of things you can do, and it’s good to combine it with exercise. I know I’ve mainly stuck to the same breakfast every morning but I tend to have that anyway so it’s not been such an issue! Hope this may inspire you to give it a go. I’ve enjoyed it!

IMG_5296
CYPRUS DOUBLE BANANA!
One thought on “Franny’s Five-Day Detox

Leave a Reply

